Where Do The Naruto Movies Fall In The Series Timeline?

Figuring out where the Naruto movies fall within the series timeline can be tricky without a little homework, so here’s the correct order. Naruto is based on the popular manga series by Masashi Kishimoto and follows the title character as he trains to become a ninja. The anime adaptation followed the manga’s structure by splitting the saga in two; part one focused on Naruto’s pre-teen years while part two jumps ahead in time to the character’s teenage adventures.

The first series of Naruto arrived in 2002 in Japan and would run for 220 episodes, while sequel series Naruto: Shippuden would first air in 2007 and would last an epic 500 episodes before ending. The show ranks alongside the likes of Dragon Ball and Bleach in popularity and it spawned a series of eleven Naruto movies that were produced alongside the show.

Related: Naruto: Every Member Of The Akatsuki, Ranked Weakest To Strongest

The franchise continued on with the adventures of Naruto’s son Boruto and a live-action Naruto movie is being developed by The Greatest Showman director Michael Gracey. While fans wait for Naruto to be adapted into a potential blockbuster series, they might want to revisit the animated movie spinoffs. While watching the movies isn’t strictly necessary to enjoy the show, some fans might be curious where they fall within the timeline.

The first three Naruto movies follow the timeline of the original series, while the last eight take place within the continuity of Naruto: Shippuden. The first movie, 2004s’s Ninja Clash In The Land Of Snow, fits between episodes 101 and 102 of the original show, while Legend Of The Stone Of Gelel comes after 160. The final entry was the lukewarm Guardians Of The Crescent Moon Kingdom, which is set after episode 196.

The timeline with later movies is a little fuzzy, however, so a little guesswork is involved. Naruto Shippuden The Movie from 2007 comes after episode 32 of the sequel series, while 2008’s Bonds is roughly after episode 70. Naruto Shippuden The Movie: The Will Of Fire is after episode 121 and The Lost Tower follows episode 143. The order of Blood Prison is a topic of debate among fans, mainly due to events in the story being confusing, but it likely falls somewhere after episode 220.

Road To Ninja: Naruto The Movie is also unclear in terms of chronology, but it appears to come after episode 250 and the fittingly titled The Last finds Naruto and his friends trying to stop the moon hitting the Earth and comes before episode 495. Buruto: Naruto The Movie from 2015 then follows Naruto’s son on new adventures. The order of the Naruto movies, especially the later entries, is up for debate among franchise fans, but most of them are best enjoyed when detached from strict continuity.

Next: What To Expect From Darling In The Franxx Season 2

2019-04-17 04:04:13

Padraig Cotter

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply